January 2023 Symposium Recordings

January 17-19

Discover New Ways to
Unleash Team Creativity in Pursuit of a Better Future

The presenters at The New Rules for Work Online Symposium included over 56 experts, with a deliberate mix of professional facilitators, business leaders, technologists, global change agents, and published scientists with rock solid data. Our common intellectual thread is a belief in the power of creative teams to change the world for the better.

The Symposium was conducted entirely online. All materials and ongoing discussions are hosted in CrowdComms.

Access to Recordings & More for $59

    All prices in US dollars.
    Couldn’t join us for the live event? No worries. You can purchase a pass to see the recordings and join the ongoing discussion.

    Symposium Agenda

    Here’s what we covered during this kickoff event.

    Tuesday, January 17th
    Start Time Presenter Session Title
    14:30 GMT / 9:30 ET /
    6:30 PT / 1:30 AEDT (next day)
    New Rules for Work Hosts Welcome! Why We’re Here & What to Expect
    15 GMT / 10 ET /
    7 PT / 2 AEDT
    Charlie Hoehn
    Play Cure Inc.
    How to Unlock Creativity Through The Power of Play
    16 GMT / 11 ET /
    8 PT / 3 AEDT
    Lightning Talks
    Matt Chadder
    Instinct Laboratory
    Understanding the Power of Environmental Space on Human Creativity, Collaboration, and Innovation
    Dr. Melanie Brucks
    Columbia Business School
    When Virtual Communication Might Curb Creativity
    Elizabeth Zavodsky
    Ecochallenge
    Making Climate Action Fun
    17 GMT / 12 ET /
    9 PT / 4 AEDT
    QiqoChat Participant Led Discussions
    17:30 GMT / 12:30 ET /
    9:30 PT / 4:30 AEDT
    Keith McCandless
    (Liberating Structures) &
    Nancy White
    (Full Circle Associates)
    A Door Opens – Making Space for Innovation
    19 GMT / 2 PM ET /
    11 PT / 6 AEDT
    Dr. Michael Platt
    Wharton Neuroscience Initiative
    The Neuroscience of Teaming
    20 GMT / 3 PM ET /
    12 PT / 7 AEDT
    QiqoChat Participant Led Discussions
    20:30 GMT / 3:30 PM ET /
    12:30 PT / 7:30 AEDT
    Mingle Break
    21 GMT / 4 PM ET /
    1 PM PT / 8 AEDT
    Chris Bent
    Piccles
    Facilitated Mixer: An Abundant Exchange
    22 GMT / 5 PM ET /
    2 PM PT / 9 AEDT
    Genein Letford
    CAFFE Strategies
    Intercultural Creativity® for Leadership: The Ace Up Your Sleeve for the Future of Work
    23 GMT / 6 PM ET /
    3 PM PT / 10 AEDT
    Dr. Myriam Hadnes
    Never Done Before
    Are we solving the right problem? Slowing down to speed up in 3 steps
    00:30 GMT / 7:30 PM ET /
    4:30 PM PT / 11:30 AEDT
    New Rules for Work Hosts Day 1 in Review: Three ways to collect feedback
    Wednesday, January 18th
    Start Time Presenter Session Title
    9 GMT / 4 ET /
    1 PT / 20 AEDT
    Judy Rees &
    Steve McCann
    Rees McCann Limited
    Metaphors All The Way Down: Clean Language for Innovative Teams
    10 GMT / 5 ET /
    2 PT / 21 AEDT
    Lightning Talks
    Jules Gilleland
    Think with Things
    Think with Things to Go from Play to Work and Back to Play!
    Niels Anhalt
    growhuman.io
    Don’t the best ideas emerge overnight?
    David Chislett
    Weapon of Mass Creation
    Rule 1: There are no RULES!
    11 GMT / 6 ET /
    3 PT / 22 AEDT
    QiqoChat Participant Led Discussions
    11:30 GMT / 6:30 ET /
    3:30 PT / 22:30 AEDT
    Thomas Lahnthaler
    Crisis Compass
    How to Foster a Culture of Creativity Using Disruption, Constraints, and Deception!
    13 GMT / 8 ET /
    5 PT / 0 AEDT (next day)
    Mingle Break
    14 GMT / 9 ET /
    6 PT / 1 AEDT (next day)
    QiqoChat Participant Led Discussions
    14:30 GMT / 9:30 ET /
    6:30 PT / 1:30 AEDT
    Advisor Panel featr.
    Dr. Samantha Dubrow
    The MITRE Corporation
    Tips for Collecting Great Experiment Data
    15 GMT / 10 ET /
    7 PT / 2 AEDT
    Loren Edelstein
    (Northstar Meetings Group) &
    Bruce McIndoe
    (McIndoe Risk Advisory LLC)
    Current and Future Risks of Travel, Meetings, and Humanity
    16 GMT / 11 ET /
    8 PT / 3 AEDT
    Lightning Talks
    Wayne Turmel
    Remote Leadership Institute
    The 3Cs of Culture No Matter Where People Are
    Heather Martinez
    Tech Host Academy
    Tech Hosting: Adding the Skill Set to Your Existing Role
    Annette Gregory-McArthur
    Talent for Good
    Using Consent-Based Decision Making to Launch Complex Initiatives into Action
    17 GMT / 12 ET /
    9 PT / 4 AEDT
    QiqoChat Participant Led Discussions
    17:30 GMT / 12:30 ET /
    9:30 PT / 4:30 AEDT
    Tricia Conyers &
    John Norcross
    Every Little Model
    Innovation, Engagement, and the Bigger Brain
    19 GMT / 2 PM ET /
    11 PT / 6 AEDT
    Lightning Talks
    Mark Russell
    Author of Superman, The Flinstones, & God is Disappointed in You
    The Creative Power and Process of Comics
    Dr. Roni Reiter-Palmon
    University of Nebraska at Omaha
    The Research Perspective on When (and When NOT) to Invite Creativity
    Brenna Simmons-St. Onge
    The Alliance Center
    The Age of Regeneration
    20 GMT / 3 PM ET /
    12 PM PT / 7 AEDT
    QiqoChat Participant Led Discussions
    20:30 GMT / 3:30 PM ET /
    12:30 PM PT / 7:30 AEDT
    Mingle Break
    21 GMT / 4 PM ET /
    1 PM PT/ 8 AEDT
    Shishir Mehrotra
    Coda
    Innovation Rituals of Great Teams
    22 GMT / 5 PM ET /
    2 PM PT / 9 AEDT
    Nathan Coutinho
    Logitech
    The New Logic of Work: A Smarter Vision for Hybrid
    23 GMT / 6 PM ET /
    3 PM PT / 10 AEDT
    Mini Workshops
    Kevin Joyce
    (EnJoy Productions) &
    Betty Ray
    (Center for Ritual Design)
    Reverence and Irreverence: How Humor and Ritual Make Meetings Matter
    Anca Castilo &
    Cary Lopez
    DesignConvo
    How the heck did we just do that? A case study about the creative power of a good process
    00:30 GMT / 7:30 PM ET /
    4:30 PM PT / 11:30 AEDT
    Advisors and Hosts Ask Us Anything!
    Get Ready for the Design Competition & Experiment
    Thursday, January 19th
    Start Time Presenter Session Title
    9 GMT / 4 ET /
    1 PT / 20 AEDT
    Cate Czerwinski
    Cate Facilitates
    Facilitated Mixer:
    An Abundant Exchange
    10 GMT / 5 ET /
    2 PT / 21 AEDT
    Lightning Talks
    Hassan Ghiassi
    The Dialogic Approach
    Lean Into Difficult Conversations to Unblock Creativity
    Steve Bather
    Realise Group
    Using Technology to Unleash Team Creativity, Innovation Practice, and Facilitation
    Anamaria Dorgo
    Butter
    Exploring the Conditions for Connection
    11 GMT / 6 ET /
    3 PT / 22 AEDT
    QiqoChat Participant Led Discussions
    11:30 GMT / 6:30 ET /
    3:30 PT / 22:30 AEDT
    Dr. Maha Bali
    American University in Cairo
    Using Intentionally Equitable Hospitality in Hybrid/Digital Learning/Meeting Spaces
    13 GMT / 8 ET /
    5 PT / 0 AEDT (Next day)
    Michael Lee & Mark Dodsworth
    World Creativity and Innovation Week
    How Might Creativity Help Save the Planet? An Interactive Exploration
    13:30 GMT / 8:30 ET /
    5:30 PT / 0:30 AEDT (Next day)
    Mingle Break
    14 GMT / 9 ET /
    6 PT / 1 AEDT (Next day)
    QiqoChat Participant Led Discussions
    14:30 GMT / 9:30 ET /
    6:30 PT / 1:30 AEDT
    Advisors and Hosts Ask Us Anything!
    Get Ready for the Design Competition & Experiment
    15 GMT / 10 ET /
    7 PT / 2 AEDT
    James Frankis (Convene),
    Rowan de Bruin (Mapiq)
    Ryan Anderson (MillerKnoll)
    Panel: Creating a Future-Fit Workplace Now
    16 GMT / 11 ET /
    8 PT / 3 AEDT
    Lightning Talks
    Dr. Leah Sprain
    University of Colorado Boulder
    Unleashing Public Action in the Face of Wicked Problems: Insights from Research
    Bruce Honig
    Idea Guides
    The BETA Approach to Building Creative Capacity
    Kristin York Brennan
    Exiger
    Beyond the Status Quo: Unleashing Creativity in Change-Averse Environments
    17 GMT / 12 PM ET /
    9 PT / 4 AEDT
    QiqoChat Participant Led Discussions
    17:30 GMT / 12:30 PM ET /
    9:30 PT / 4:30 AEDT
    Jim Kalbach &
    Mark Tippin
    Mural
    Balancing Participation in Hybrid Meetings
    19 GMT / 2 PM ET /
    11 PT / 6 AEDT
    Dr. Joseph Allen
    The University of Utah
    The Science Says!
    Top Five Recommendations from Science for Effective Meeting Designs
    Henry Hall
    CrowdComms
    Does every event need to be a hybrid event?
    20 GMT / 1 PM ET /
    12 PM PT / 5 AEDT
    QiqoChat Participant Led Discussions
    20:30 GMT / 1:30 PM ET /
    12:30 PM PT / 5:30 AEDT
    Mingle Break
    21 GMT / 4 PM ET /
    1 PM PT / 8 AEDT
    Marysia Czarski
    Ignition Creativity
    Generating and Leading a Climate of Creativity and Collaboration
    22 GMT / 5 PM ET /
    2 PM PT / 9 AEDT
    Michael Arena
    Connected Commons
    Innovating Through Networks in a Hybrid World
    23 GMT / 6 PM ET /
    3 PM PT / 10 AEDT
    Ben Crothers
    Bright Pilots
    And then what happened?
    Capturing Results & Inspiring Next Steps
    00:30 GMT / 7:30 PM ET /
    4:30 PM PT / 11:30 AEDT
    Advisors and Hosts In Closing: Let’s confirm next steps!

    Premier Partners

    Logitech

    Solution Partners

    CrowdComms
    Spryng.io
    QiqoChat
    Coda

    Frequently
    Asked
    Questions

    What time zone will the event be in?

    Our presenters and participants live all around the world. To ensure everyone has an opportunity to engage in live workshops and networking sessions, the program will extend over 16 hours:

    • Start: 1 PT /4 ET / 9 GMT / 20 AEDT
    • End: 17 PT / 20 ET / 1 GMT / 12 AEDT

    You can drop in and out as needed. There will be several long breaks planned too.

    Will live content be recorded and available after the event?

    Yes, the presentations will be available for on-demand viewing in the online event library after the symposium. That said, many sessions include opportunities for small group discussion and collaboration which will not be recorded.

    What languages will be supported?

    All sessions will be held in English, with automated closed captioning available.

     

    Why should I register for this?

    It will be fun.
    (We’re literally exploring the science of play, creativity, and doing good work together.)

    You will meet fascinating people that you’d never meet anywhere else.
    (A professor, an activist, a techie, a comic book author, a marine biologist, an industrial designer, and a clown walk into a symposium… anything could happen!)

    It will be cool.
    (Collaborating with other positive people feels great!)

    We want to see you there. Your perspective is needed and valued.
    Please join us.

    Do you offer a discount for people living in developing economies?

    Yes. We offer purchasing-power-adjusted discount of 50% off registration fees to those who live in low and low-middle economy countries as defined by the World Bank

    Apply for the discount here

    My question wasn’t addressed here. Who should I contact?

    Please email your question to info@newrulesforwork.com

    Next pHase: Join the Experiment